top of page

#TheFirstBlow from "The Powers that be..."!!!

Updated: Sep 19, 2022

#TheFirstBlow from "The Powers that be..."!!!

April 25, 2020: *** How to handle Mental pressure/harrassment ***


April 25, 2020 marks the beginning of holy month of #Ramadan - The month to forgive and seek forgiveness, get rid of grief and be a better version of ourselves. This prompts me to share my experiences for benefit of others who are going through a rough phase and want to get out of it.

This is in continuation with below article:

*** 5 Things to definitely do during #lockdown ***


April 25, 2018 - In my calendar, this date marks the day of execution of "The First Blow". The day when the "powers that be" made the first dent on my dreams, my #career and more importantly my self confidence.


If God forbid you have ever experienced having to live your life watching over your shoulder, second guessing your every move, every statement, every email, every ping and every response just so that you don't lose what you need to realise your dreams you will know exactly what I'm talking about. (For other fortunate folks who don't, I'll elaborate this in my upcoming book)


I was on my first #onshore assignment in #UK for a reputed bank in 2016. This was the year when UK had the significant #brexit poll and its share of business/#economic uncertainties. You might remember hearing about major #layoffs during this time. A similar cost cutting exercise (now referred constructively as #Restructuring) in one of the other major bank had hit my parent company real hard. The move had rendered people from an entire account of my parent company unbillable and hence many of the deputees at onshore had to be absorbed into other accounts. This presented a challenge for "the company" of having a bit many visa holders for a bit less positions. As much as I understand, these were one of the first chain of events that were going to hit me over the next 2 years. When it comes to onshore opportunities, you will be surprised to see how far the sophisticated/#ethical professionals are willing to go to secure one. They say that the "straight trees are cut first". Well, unfortunately for me, I was the straight tree among the rest. At least I would like to believe this to be the reason for the discrimination I faced rather than the obvious one. I'll detail the troubles that followed in my book but you get the idea of how a bunch of hounds can behave for a piece of meat. This coupled with some folks who weren't at peace with their personal affairs, extra marital affairs, professional affairs contributed to make things worse. How the events built up, what role different people played, how this gave an open hand to middle management to abuse and exploit the situation and how all this was going to change the course of my life will be detailed in the book.


However, the top 3 things that made me handle this treatment rather decently were:


The most important thing that helped me to keep myself in check during these years were #prayers and someone who helped me imbibe them in my routine. Trust me, Spiritual connect can do wonders in such situations. You can point out wrongdoings, express your pain, your guilt and your regret without any judgements and more importantly without having to worry about anyone exploiting them.


Another thing that helped me hold ground were my #parents. The thought that I have to go through this for my parents well being and to give them a better life always pulled me out from the darkest corners. So find an anchor with whom you have a strong emotional connect to hold tight to when things get ugly.


Lastly, Couple of close #friends who understand your decisions and respect the reasoning for those decisions are very important in these times. They help you steer back on track when you are drifting away. They provide you the much needed confidence boosters in times like these.


There are some other small tricks I'm happy to share. DM me if you would like.

Hope you don't find yourself in such situation, hope you find a way out if you ever find yourself in such a situation and hope you get a chance to help someone struggling!




Source: https://lnkd.in/g7YRVZg

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page