top of page

#TheStartingSix Values of #WhateverItTakesFromYou Explained!!!

Into the 3rd Year of Pursuance and Resistance...





1. #TheStartingSix --> D1 --> "MOTIVE"


I was based in Hinjewadi, #Pune when I set a personal goal of getting a home for my parents. I was well experienced, established and invested in both Capital group and Infosys at the time. However, the multiple onshore positions in the project didn't materialize. But perhaps that's a story for another time!

I started pursuing onsite role in other projects and I was fortunate enough to get an opportunity with #Barclays in Manchester, UK in 2016. I took the opportunity with single MOTIVE of building a better life for my family. It was the same reason I accepted the assignment for Allied Irish Bank (#AIB) in Dublin, Ireland in 2018.

Unfortunately, sometimes some bad company and some bad situations knock you to a different track.

The #motive is to right the wrongs, make reasonable amends, set the records straight and get back on track!



2. #TheStartingSix --> D2 --> "Determination"


Simply put, Withstanding the test of time so that it doesn't blur your vision, fade your dreams and withers your spirit is "Determination"!

It happens often that the "roadblocks" (circumstantial or otherwise) in achieving your "Motive" consumes a chunk of your energy and resources. It tends to drain your energy, deteriorate your spirit and cause you to lose your focus. Determination is to not let them deter you, not let them change your "problem statement" and never let them make you quit!

One of my first project, coincidentally called "Reinstatement" was one such test of my Determination. And it was that early in my career that I realised, determination attracts victory. And so it turned out that with long hours, strong Focus, brilliant mentors and apolitical colleagues the "Go-Live" was a success!

A decade later when I find my determination being put to test again, I seek inspiration from such interesting events and such wonderful #Infoscions!




3. #TheStartingSix --> D3 --> "Hardwork"


"Hardwork" works when nothing else does!

As you progress through different roles in an else organisation such as Infosys, you tend to observe the leadership traits and the distinguished working style of different people. I have been fortunate to work with few of the best leaders who identified my strengths and provided me with opportunities to grow with them. I got a chance to work with the opposite kind as well. The ones who identify your weaknesses and highlight those to undermine you. Whatever be the kind of boss you work with, the one thing that can't be overlooked is "Hardwork". Hardwork earns you the respect and admiration like no other skill. I had imbibed this skill quite early in my career. Whichever client I worked with, be it Allied Irish bank or Barclays or Capital group I ensured my productivity numbers were always better than my peers.

Remember, nobody is irreplaceable but hardwork brings you the closest to being one!




4. #TheStartingSix --> D4 --> "Perseverance"


That extra "#Hardwork" you put in with utmost "#Determination" to achieve your "#Motive", after your mind and soul is shattered into pieces by discouraging events is "#Perseverance"

When what happened happened in #AIB (Allied Irish Bank) and #Infosys #Dublin, #Ireland back in 2019, I was left with two choices - to bend the knee before the "#System" and silently move on, hoping to never cross paths with the "powers that be" or to challenge what's wrong at the risk of inviting retaliation! Amongst other things, it caused severe disappointment and trauma before I submitted to walk the path I'm currently on!

I found, the most helpful way to take tough decisions is to run them by the "time test". For instance I would repeatedly ask myself, would this harassment and unfair bullying still bother me 1 year down the line? I got an instant "yes" to that question then and I get an instant "Yes" now! That's when I decided to register the protest in the form of #WhateveritTakesFromYou. "The Starting Six" quotes laid the foundation of the movement. As we move to mark 1 year of protest, I take a pledge to continue to face the "resistance" but continue the protest for as long as it takes!



5. #TheStartingSix --> D5 --> "Courage"


Courage isn't walking the path being unafraid. It's walking the path despite being afraid!

I thought the few months I spent while working for #AIB in #Dublin, #Ireland were bad. Little did I know that the worse was yet to come!

There was a phase while working at Allied Irish Bank, Central park when every day was a challenge! When I will board the #luas from #Ranelagh towards #CentralPark, I would think about what had happened yesterday and how today is going to be! As the luas moved through each stop, I'd think about getting off the tram and call the day off, maybe the entire week off. Why not, I hadn't availed a single leave since I joined. But then I'll think about my project commitments and show up. Its then that I realised, courage doesn't mean being fearless, it means doing what you are supposed to do despite all the resistance!



6. #TheStartingSix --> D6 --> "Patience"


Don't confuse patience with simply waiting. Patience is believing things will happen when the time is right, after you have done your part!

I always used to say, "We shouldn't worry about that what is not in our hands". Since UK happened, I've amended it as, "We shouldn't worry about that what is not in our hands, but don't think twice before doing everything that is in your hand"

The amended bit sometimes, may not be well received by others but is always necessary for your being! Things happen when the time is right, but only after you've put in your sincere efforts.

Being impatient, opens doors to be reckless and unethical and trust me it's a one way street you don't want to get onto!

Be patient and see better things happening!




Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page